3   +   7   =  

Eager to get your hands on the next Lisbeth Salander book? Well, it won’t be available until 27 August (when it gets a worldwide release), but for now you can be one step closer to that dream. The latest Millennium series book, The Girl in the Spider’s Web, written by David Lagercrantz and based on plot outlines left by the late Steig Larsson, now has a cover! In April, publisher Quercus also has a promotional event lined up: 30 April will be The Day of the Girl (#dayofthegirl) – the birthday of hacker heroine Lisbeth Salander.
the-girl-in-the-spiders-webGeorge R R Martin has caused a stir this week by publishing a new chapter from his next Song of Ice and Fire book The Winds of Winter. Martin posted the excerpt online, and it focuses on Sansa Stark (under her new identity, Alayne Stone).

Another literary longlist has been announced. The Desmond Elliott prize 2015, which is awarded to the year’s best debut fiction work, has revealed its ten selected titles. It includes Laline Paull’s The Bees, Jessie Burton’s The Miniaturist and Emma Healey’s Elizabeth is Missing. The shortlist will be unveiled on 15 May and the winner announced 1 July. Last year’s prize went to Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-formed Thing.

The James Herbert Prize for Horror Writing – in its first year of existence – now has its winner. Craig Davidson (otherwise known as Nick Cutter) has won for his novel The Troop. The book features a scout group going hiking in the Canadian wilderness, only to meet with a strange man who is the host of a bioengineered disease.

The 2015 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Novels has a shortlist as well. It includes Caitlin Moran, Alexander McCall Smith, Irvine Welsh, Joseph O’Neill, Helen Lederer and Nina Stibbe. Moran is currently the frontrunner to win with her book How to Build a Girl. The winner is announced at Hay Festival. The prize itself is Bollinger Special Cuvée, a case of Bollinger La Grande Année, the complete set of Everyman Wodehouse . . . oh, and also, the winner receives a Gloucestershire Old Spot Pig, which is named after the winning book.

Send this to a friend