catcher-in-the-rye

The Catcher In The Rye

– In very sad news, prolific US author Elmore Leonard, known for Hombre, Get Shorty and Desperado to name a few, has passed away at the age of 87.

– Culturefly reviewed The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak (2006) back in April this year, giving the novel about a young girl’s experience in Nazi Germany a Five Star rating. It has now received its first film trailer, with requisite distracting voiceover. If you’re susceptible to weepies, you should probably start making excuses now for the many tears to follow!

 

 

– Ann Brashares, author of YA novel The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants will be releasing a new novel titled The Here and Now, which sounds like it will have more of a sci-fi slant than her previous output (although those “pants” did seem to have magical powers for never getting lost in the post). The novel’s protagonist, Prenna, is ostensibly a 17 year old immigrant in New York, except she’s actually a time-traveller from a future world deformed by a mosquito-borne pandemic.

– Bookriot have produced a short list of better, alternative endings for classic books. “Let’s split” for Waiting for Godot is my personal favourite: http://bookriot.com/2013/08/19/better-endings-for-10-classic-books/

– Fans of The Catcher in the Rye and Franny and Zooey rejoice! According to a recent biography of the famously reclusive writer J.D. Salinger, new material has been unearthed which will be published starting at some point between 2015 and 2020. Apparently these stories involve an older Holden Caulfield, and also return readers to the Glass family.

– A First edition of T.S. Eliot’s ‘The Waste Land’ has sold at auction for £4500, purchased by the University of St Andrews from the seller, Oxfam.

– Dustin Hoffman and Judi Dench will be starring in a BBC adaptation of Roald Dahl’s Esio Trot

– Unless you’ve been living under a rock for a while, you’ve likely heard a lot of fuss being made over a debut novel released on 20th August: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. If you like to be in on the hype, then get ye to a bookshop immediately to see if this young author really is the new J.K!

Here are some other upcoming releases for the end of August:

  • Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam (29th August),
  • Night Film by Marisha Pessl, a thrilling novel about a mystery surrounding a Cult horror film director and a journalist investigating the case of a deceased woman (29th August)
  • Instructions for A Heatwave by Maggie O’ Farrell (29th August)
  • The Fall of Five , the fourth book in Pittacus Lore’s children’s Lorien Legacies series (29th August)
  • Sergio de la Pava’s recent award-winning A Naked Singularity  (29th August)
  • The paperback edition of Lauren Beuke’s acclaimed thriller The Shining Girls (29th August)

Send this to friend